Rosemary

“There’s rosemary, that’s for remembrance; pray, love, remember: and there is pansies, that’s for thoughts…There’s fennel for you, and columbines: there’s rue for you; and here’s some for me: we may call it herb-grace o’ Sundays: O, you must wear your rue with a difference. There’s a daisy: I would give you some violets, but they withered all when my father died…” 


When I think of rosemary (rosmarinus officinalis), I think of stature, memory, clarity & stimulation. Rosemary is one of the oldest herbs used for medicine & cooking throughout the Mediterranean area to which it is native. Even though Rosemary is an evergreen, it is apart of the aromatic mint family.

The leaves & the oil are the medicinal parts used, and are wonderfully effective. Rosemary has a warm, robust and stimulating smell and a cool woody & spicy taste. It is stimulating for people who have poor circulation in their joints, skin, heart and brain. Inhaling the oil or using it topically can improve respiration, memory, headaches, fatigue cold/ tight muscles and joints and anxiety and increased hair growth.

Drinking the tea or cooking with rosemary leaves helps promote memory and cerebral circulation as well as warming the whole body. I love to add rosemary essential oil into a carrier oil (coconut, olive or grapeseed) to rub on my body and hair and makes an excellent addition to many of the healing salves I make. I also love diffusing rosemary essential oil by itself or with a combination of other oils and simply keeping it with me every time I need some mental clarity.

fullsizeoutput_297

 

 

Leave a Reply

